Monday, May 21, 2018

From the Eclectic to the Experienced

Organizers of New Zealand’s now well-established Ngaio Marsh Awards for crime fiction have released their longlist of nominees in the 2018 Best Novel category. As judging convenor Craig Sisterson explains in his blog, Crime Watch: “This year’s longlist … includes a mix of new and experienced voices, several authors who’ve won and been shortlisted for a variety of awards in several countries, and writers ranging in age from early 20s to early 80s.” The rivals are:

Marlborough Man, by Alan Carter (Fremantle Press)
Baby, by Annaleese Jochems (Victoria University Press)
See You in September, by Charity Norman (Allen & Unwin)
The Lost Taonga, by Edmund Bohan (Lucano)
The Easter Make Believers, by Finn Bell (e-book only)
The Only Secret Left to Keep, by Katherine Hayton (e-book only)
Tess, by Kirsten McDougall (Victoria University Press)
The Sound of Her Voice, by Nathan Blackell (Mary Egan)
A Killer Harvest, by Paul Cleave (Upstart Press)
The Hidden Room, by Stella Duffy (Virago)

The finalists for this year’s Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Novel, as well as for the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First Novel, will be announced in July. Winners will be declared as part of an event at the WORD Christchurch Festival, to be held in Christchurch, New Zealand, from August 29 to September 2.

1 comment:

Kiwicraig said...

Thanks Jeff. We really appreciate your ongoing support of our awards. It was fantastic having you as a judge for several years.