Thursday, March 31, 2016

Shorts Time

Back at the beginning of this month, the Short Mystery Fiction Society announced its numerous nominees for the 2016 Derringer Awards. Today, the SMFS has declared the winners in four categories.

Best Flash Story (up to 1,000 words):
“Hero,” by Vy Kava (from Red Dawn: Best New England Crime Stories 2016, edited by Mark Ammons, Katherine Fast, Barbara Ross, and Leslie Wheeler; Level Best)

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words):
“Twilight Ladies,” by Meg Opperman (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], March/April 2015)

Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words):
“Dentonville,” by John M. Floyd (EQMM, November 2015)

Best Novelette (8,001-20,000 words):
“Driver,” by John M. Floyd (The Strand Magazine, February-May 2015)

In addition, the Society reports that “a committee of the SMFS Officers, Awards Coordinator, and two members-at-large awarded the Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer (Lifetime Achievement) to: Michael Bracken.”

These winners will be honored during a special presentation at Bouchercon 2016, which is scheduled to be held in New Orleans, Louisiana, from September 15 to 18.

READ MORE:Waco Writer Michael Bracken Honored for Lifetime of Mysteries,” by Carl Hoover (Waco Tribune-Herald).

No comments: