Tuesday, March 01, 2016

Short Comings

The Short Mystery Fiction Society (SMFS) today announced its nominees for the 2016 Derringer Awards, as follows.

Best Flash Story (up to 1,000 words):
“The Hard Screw,” by Jack Bates (Near to the Knuckle,
August 6, 2015)
“Heavy Debt,” by Craig Faustus Buck (“Mondays Are Murder,” Akashic, August 10, 2015)
“The Wrong Girl,” by Barb Goffman (from Flash and Bang: A Short Mystery Fiction Society Anthology, edited by J. Alan Hartman;
Untreed Reads)
“Hero,” by Vy Kava (from Red Dawn: Best New England Crime Stories 2016, edited by Mark Ammons, Katherine Fast, Barbara Ross, and Leslie Wheeler; Level Best)
“Trash Pick-Up,” by John Weagly (Near to the Knuckle,
September 24, 2015)

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words):
“Words Can Kill,” by Shelly Dickson Carr (from Red Dawn: Best New England Crime Stories 2016)
“Joe Park’s Little Girl,” by Nikki Dolson (Mystery Weekly,
September 7, 2015)
“Kill Switch,” by Chris Knopf (from Red Dawn: Best New England Crime Stories 2016)
“Pompo’s Disguise,” by William Burton McCormick (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], March/April 2015)
“Twilight Ladies,” by Meg Opperman (EQMM, March/April 2015)

Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words):
“The White Game,” by Ron Collins (from Fiction River: Hidden in Crime, edited by Kristine Kathryn Rusch; WMG)
“Dentonville,” by John M. Floyd (EQMM, November 2015)
“The Orchid Grower,” by Katia Lief (EQMM, November 2015)
“Shooting at Firemen,” by Robert Lopresti (Alfred Hitchcocks Mystery Magazine [AHMM]), July/August 2015)
“The Man in the Dick Tracy Hat,” by Elizabeth Zelvin (AHMM,
June 2015)

Best Novelette (8,001-20,000 words):
“Driver,” by John M. Floyd (The Strand Magazine,
February-May 2015)
“Crazy Cat Ladies,” by Jane Haddam (EQMM, February 2015)
“Shooting Stars,” by Richard Helms (EQMM,
September/October 2015)
“Jack Daniels and Associates: The Whiplash Brokers,” by Gordon Hopkins (Kindle Worlds, March 2015)
“Quack and Dwight,” by Travis Richardson (from Jewish Noir: Contemporary Tales of Crime and Other Dark Deeds, edited by Kenneth Wishnia; PM Press)

As the SMFS explains, “Group voting to determine the winner in each category runs March 1–30. Winners announced March 31.” Congratulations to all of the contenders!

No comments: