Friday, May 18, 2007

Peculier by Popular Agreement

Twenty books--yes, 20--are currently in contention for the 2007 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, to be given out during England’s Harrogate Crime Writing Festival, July 19-22. As the Theakstons folks are fond of pointing out, this is “the only literary prize of its kind to be voted for by the public.” Between now and June 17, you can vote here for your choice among the long-list of titles. A shortlist of half a dozen will then be named, to be followed by a second round of online ballot-marking.

These are the nominees:

The Dead Place, by Stephen Booth
All Fun and Games Until Somebody Loses an Eye, by Christopher Brookmyre
Death of a Chancellor, by David Dickinson
Never Go Back, by Robert Goddard
Two-Way Split, by Allan Guthrie
Little Face, by Sophie Hannah
Ash & Bone, by John Harvey
The Stranger House, by Reginald Hill
The Pure in Heart, by Susan Hill
Blood and Honey, by Graham Hurley
The Lighthouse, by P.D. James
The Death Ship of Dartmouth, by Michael Jecks
Cold Granite, by Stuart MacBride
The Excursion Train, by Edward Marston
Ratcatcher, by James McGee
After the Armistice Ball, by Catriona McPherson
Dance with Death, by Barbara Nadel
Jacquot and the Angel, by Martin O’Brien
End in Tears, by Ruth Rendell
Mr. Clarinet, by Nick Stone

Quite a diverse list. I’m just relieved to say that I have read half of the titles nominated. Of those, my personal favorites are MacBride’s Cold Granite (one of January Magazine’s favorite books of 2005), Marston’s The Excursion Train (the second entry in his buoyant series starring mid-19th-century “Railway Detective” Robert Colbeck), James’ The Lighthouse (her 13th novel featuring policeman-poet Adam Dalgliesh), and James McGee’s Ratcatcher, which introduced his swashbuckling Bow Street Runner, Matthew Hawkwood. Unfortunately, I only get to vote for one book.

This, by the way, marks the third-annual Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year competition. Mark Billingham won in 2005, while Val McDermid walked away with the award last year.

Vote here now!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I hope that Robert Goddard will be a final nominee. But it is hard to be so. Because Harrogate Final Nominess will be choosen by fans....

Goddard is underestimated author. He has wrote a lot of good suspense fictions....