Thursday, July 02, 2020

Braithwaite Helps Make History

Nigerian-UK author Oyinkan Braithwaite’s debut novel, My Sister, the Serial Killer (Atlantic), has been declared the 2020 Crime & Thriller Book of the Year as part of the British Book Awards competition, concluded this week with an announcement of recipients.

Also contending for that honor were:

The Hunting Party, by Lucy Foley (HarperCollins)
How the Dead Speak, by Val McDermid (Little, Brown)
The Silent Patient, by Alex Michaelides (Orion)
Impostor, by L.J. Ross (Dark Skies)
Blue Moon, by Lee Child (Bantam Press)

In Reference to Murder notes that “Braithwaite was the first Black author to win her category, joining fellow authors Candice Carty-Williams and Bernardine Evaristo who became become the first Black authors to win top British Book awards for book of the year and author of the year, respectively.”

In addition to Crime & Thriller Book of the Year, 2020 British Book Awards—also known as Nibbies—were dispensed in more than two dozen other categories. You’ll find all of the recipients here. The Nibbies are administered annually by The Bookseller.

No comments: