Monday, March 23, 2020

The Leftys Come Through After All

This year’s Left Coast Crime convention (scheduled for March 12-15 in San Diego, California) may have been cancelled partway through due to the worsening coronavirus pandemic, but today still brings an announcement of the 2020 Lefty Award winners, in four categories.

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel:
Scot & Soda, by Catriona McPherson (Midnight Ink)

Also nominated for this prize: Fatal Cajun Festival, by Ellen Byron (Crooked Lane); Murder from Scratch, by Leslie Karst (Crooked Lane); The Subject of Malice, by Cynthia Kuhn (Henery Press); and Drowned Under, by Wendall Thomas (Poisoned Pen Press)

Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (for books set before 1970):
The Satapur Moonstone, by Sujata Massey (Soho Crime)

Also nominated: Murder Knocks Twice, by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur); The Pearl Dagger, by L.A. Chandlar (Kensington); A Lady’s Guide to Gossip and Murder, by Dianne Freeman (Kensington); and The Body in Griffith Park, by Jennifer Kincheloe (Seventh Street)

Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel:
Murderabilia, by Carl Vonderau (Midnight Ink)

Also nominated: The Ninja Daughter, by Tori Eldridge (Agora); Miracle Creek, by Angie Kim (Sarah Crichton); One Night Gone, by Tara Laskowski (Graydon House); and Three-Fifths, by John Vercher (Agora)

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel (not in other categories):
Lost Tomorrows, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview)

Also nominated: Your House Will Pay, by Steph Cha (Ecco); Borrowed Time, by Tracy Clark (Kensington); They All Fall Down, by Rachel Howzell Hall (Forge); and Heaven, My Home, by Attica Locke (Mulholland)

Victors were supposed to have been chosen by a vote of convention attendees, with the presentation of prizes to have taken place on Saturday, March 14. Instead, awards co-chair Lucinda Surber tells me that eligible voters—which means everyone who was registered for LCC as of March 1, whether they attended the convention or not—were given the chance to cast their ballots online during a seven-day period ending at midnight (PDT) on Sunday, March 22.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners, who should soon receive their awards via the public mail.

No comments: