Saturday, September 21, 2019

Manda Scott Secures McIlvanney Honor

Last night’s opening ceremonies for the annual Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival brought announcements of which books and authors have won the 2019 McIlvanney Prizes, in two separate categories. They are:

McIlvanney Prize:
A Treachery of Spies, by Manda Scott (Transworld)

Also nominated: Breakers, by Doug Johnstone (Orenda); Conviction, by Denise Mina (Vintage); and The Way of All Flesh, by “Ambrose Parry,” aka Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman (Canongate)

McIlvanney Debut Prize:
All the Hidden Truths, by Claire Askew (Hodder)

Also nominated: From the Shadows, by G.R. Halliday (Vintage); Black Camp 21, by Bill Jones (Polygon); In the Silence, by M.R. Mackenzie (Bloodhound); and The Peat Dead, by Allan Martin (Thunderpoint)

Congratulations to all of this year’s McIlvanney contenders!

(Hat tip to The Gumshoe Site.)

No comments: