Sunday, July 14, 2019

Thrilled to Beat You

Sadly, the closest I got to this year’s ThrillerFest in New York City (July 9-13) was viewing the many photos from there that author Lee Goldberg posted on his Facebook page. But at least I can fill you in on who won the 2019 Thriller Awards, given out during a celebratory banquet last evening. (Hat tip to The Gumshoe Site.)

Best Hardcover Novel: Jar of Hearts, by Jennifer Hillier (Minotaur)

Also nominated: November Road, by Lou Berney (Morrow); Paper Ghosts, by Julia Heaberlin (Ballantine); Pieces of Her, by Karin Slaughter (Morrow); and The Cabin At the End of the World, Paul Tremblay (Morrow)

Best First Novel:
The Chalk Man, by C.J. Tudor (Crown)

Also nominated: The Terminal List, by Jack Carr (Atria/Emily Bestler); Need to Know, by Karen Cleveland (Ballantine); Caged, by Ellison Cooper (Minotaur); and Something in the Water, by Catherine Steadman (Ballantine)

Best Paperback Original Novel:
The Lost Man, by Jane Harper (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Also nominated: The Good Samaritan, by John Marrs (Thomas & Mercer); The Naturalist, by Andrew Mayne (Thomas & Mercer); Gone Dark, by Kirk Russell (Thomas & Mercer); and Mister Tender’s Girl, by Carter Wilson (Sourcebooks Landmark)

Best Short Story:
“Nana,” by Helen Smith (from Killer Women: Crime Club
Anthology #2
; Killer Women)

Also nominated: “The Victims’ Club,” by Jeffery Deaver (Amazon Original); “10,432 Serial Killers (in Hell),” by Emily Devenport (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine); “Window to the Soul,” by Scott Loring Sanders (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine); and “Tough Guy Ballet,” by Duane Swierczynski (from For the Sake of the Game: Stories Inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon, edited by Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger; Pegasus)

Best Young Adult Novel:
Girl At the Grave, by Teri Bailey Black (Tor Teen)

Also nominated: The Lies They Tell, by Gillian French (HarperTeen); Warcross, by Marie Lu (Penguin Young Readers); People Like Us, by Dana Mele (Penguin Young Readers); and The Perfect Candidate, by Peter Stone (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Best E-book Original Novel:
Pray for the Innocent, by Alan Orloff (Kindle Press)

Also nominated: Murder on the Marshes, by Clare Chase (Bookouture); Executive Force, by Gary Grossman (Diversion); The Reunion, by Samantha Hayes (Bookouture); and The Memory Detective, by T.S. Nichols (Alibi)

ThrillerMaster Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient:
John Sandford

Silver Bullet Award Recipient: Harlan Coben

Thriller Legend Award Recipient: Margaret Marbury

ThrillerFan Award Recipient: Bookseller “Mystery Mike” Bursaw

Congratulations to the victors and other contenders alike!

READ MORE:From the Front Lines of ThrillerFest 2019,” by Joe Brosnan (Criminal Element).

No comments: