Tuesday, September 04, 2018

Scotland’s Final Four

About two and a half months after announcing their longlist of a dozen contenders for the 2018 McIlvanney Prize, a panel of judges today named the four finalists for that award:

Follow the Dead, by Lin Anderson (Macmillan)
Places in the Darkness, by Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
The Man Between, by Charles Cumming (HarperCollins)
The Quaker, by Liam McIlvanney (HarperCollins)

The winner will be declared on Friday, September 21, during the opening reception of the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival in Stirling. In addition to the prize itself, the victor will receive £1000 and nationwide promotion by Waterstones.

This annual commendation—recognizing “excellence in Scottish crime writing”—is named in honor of William McIlvanney, author of the novel Laidlaw (and the late father of prize nominee Liam McIlvanney). Previous recipients of the McIlvanney Prize are Denise Mina (for The Long Drop in 2017), Chris Brookmyre (for Black Widow in 2016), Craig Russell (for The Ghosts of Altona in 2015), Peter May (for Entry Island in 2014), Malcolm Mackay (for How a Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013), and Charles Cumming (for A Foreign Country in 2012).

No comments: