Wednesday, May 02, 2018

Owl’s Well That Ends Well

Seattle author Ingrid Thoft has snagged the 2018 Spotted Owl Award for her most recent novel, Duplicity (Putnam), the fourth installment in her series starring Boston private investigator Fina Ludlow. The Spotted Owl is presented annually by the Portland, Oregon-based fan group Friends of Mystery to the “best mystery written by an author whose primary residence is in the Pacific Northwest.”

The Friends’ news bulletin, “The Blood-Letter,” announced Thoft’s win and also revealed the other 10 finalists for this 2018 prize:

Close to Home, by Robert Dugoni (Thomas & Mercer)
Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore,
by Matthew Sullivan (Scribner)
K Street, by Mike Lawson (Blue Rider Press)
Family Values, by G.M. Ford (Thomas & Mercer)
The Child Finder, by Rene Denfeld (Harper)
The Nine-Tailed Fox, by Martin Limón (Soho Crime)
Illicit Trade, by Michael Niemann (Coffeetown Press)
Path into Darkness, by Lisa Alber (Midnight Ink)
Blood for Wine, by Warren Easley (Poisoned Pen Press)
Tangier, by Stephen Holgate (Blank Slate Press)

The Spotted Owl was first given out in 1996. Winners over the years have included Robert Dugoni, Jon Talton, Chelsea Cain and Johnny Shaw, Mike Lawson, Bill Cameron, and Alan Bradley.

No comments: