Monday, April 09, 2018

Thriller Seekers

The International Thriller Writers (ITW) organization today released its list of contenders for the 2018 Thriller Awards in six categories.

Best Hardcover Novel:
Ill Will, by Dan Chaon (Ballantine)
The Long Drop, by Denise Mina (Little, Brown)
The Breakdown, by B.A. Paris (St. Martin’s Press)
Fierce Kingdom, by Gin Phillips (Viking)
Final Girls, by Riley Sager (Dutton)

Best First Novel:
Deep Down Dead, by Steph Broadribb (Orenda)
Ragdoll, by Daniel Cole (Ecco)
The Red Line, by Walt Gragg (Berkley)
The Freedom Broker, by K.J. Howe (Quercus)
The Lost Ones, by Sheena Kamal (Morrow)

Best Paperback Original Novel:
Grievance, by Christine Bell (Lake Union)
Stillhouse Lake, by Rachel Caine (Thomas & Mercer)
The Resurrector, by Layton Green (Layton Green)
Police at the Station and They Don’t Look Friendly, by Adrian Mckinty (Seventh Street)
The Day I Died, by Lori Rader-Day (Morrow)

Best Short Story:
• “Too Much Time,” by Lee Child (from No Middle Name: The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Short Stories; Delacorte)
• “What Could Possibly Go Boing?” by Mat Coward (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, July/August 2017)
• “Charcoal and Cherry,” by Zoë Z. Dean (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, May/June 2017)
• “The Kill Switch,” by Willy Vlautin (from The Highway Kind: Tales of Fast Cars, Desperate Drivers, and Dark Roads, edited by Patrick Millikin; Hachette)
• “Test Drive,” by Ben H. Winters (from The Highway Kind: Tales of Fast Cars, Desperate Drivers, and Dark Roads)

Best Young Adult Novel:
The Rains, by Gregg Hurwitz (Tor Teen)
The Boy She Left Behind, by Gregg Olsen (Polis)
To Catch a Killer, by Sheryl Scarborough (Tor Teen)
The Delphi Effect, by Rysa Walker (Skyscape)
Proof of Lies, by Diana Rodriguez Wallach (Entangled)

Best E-Book Original Novel:
Second Chance, by Sean Black (Sean Black)
Resurrection America, by Jeff Gunhus (Seven Guns Press)
Trojan, by Alan McDermott (Thomas & Mercer)
Witness, by Caroline Mitchell (Thomas & Mercer)
A Fragile Thing, by Kevin Wignall (Thomas & Mercer)

ITW will broadcast the winners of these prizes on July 14, during ThrillerFest XIII at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

No comments: