Monday, April 30, 2018

Scandi Crime Ascendant

Now is a busy time for crime-fiction prizes. We have had the recent announcements of this year’s Edgar Award winners and Agatha Award recipients, as well as news of which books and authors are in contention for half a dozen CrimeFest commendations. Today, thanks to Crimepieces, we are hearing about nominees for the 2018 Petrona Award for Translated Scandinavian Crime Fiction.

What My Body Remembers, by Agnete Friis,
translated by Lindy Falk van Rooyen (Soho Press; Denmark)
Quicksand, by Malin Persson Giolito,
translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles (Simon & Schuster; Sweden)
After the Fire, by Henning Mankell,
translated by Marlaine Delargy (Vintage/Harvill Secker; Sweden)
The Darkest Day, by Håkan Nesser,
translated by Sarah Death (Pan Macmillan/Mantle; Sweden)
The White City, by Karolina Ramqvist,
translated by Saskia Vogel (Atlantic Books/Grove Press; Sweden)
The Man Who Died, by Antti Tuomainen,
translated by David Hackston (Orenda Books; Finland)

“The winning title,” says Crimepieces blogger Sarah Ward, “will be announced at the Gala Dinner on 19 May during the annual international crime-fiction convention CrimeFest, held in Bristol on 17-20 May 2018. The winning author and the translator of the winning title will both receive a cash prize, and the winning author will receive a full pass to and a guaranteed panel at CrimeFest 2019.”

No comments: