Saturday, August 12, 2017

Narrowing the Field of Neddies

Earlier today, during the Mudgee Readers’ Festival in New South Wales, the Australian Crime Writers Association announced its shortlist of contenders for the 2017 Ned Kelly Awards, in three categories.

Best Fiction:
An Isolated Incident, by Emily Maquire (Picador)
Crimson Lake, by Candice Fox (Bantam)
Out of the Ice, by Ann Turner (Simon & Schuster)
Police at the Station and They Don’t Look Friendly, by Adrian
McKinty (Serpent’s Tail)
The Golden Child, by Wendy James (Commercial Women’s Fiction)
The Rules of Backyard Cricket, by Jock Serong (Text)

Best First Fiction:
Burn Patterns, by Ron Elliott (Fremantle Press)
Goodwood, by Holly Throsby (Allen & Unwin)
Only Daughter, by Anna Snoekstra (Harlequin)
Something for Nothing, by Andy Muir (Affirm Press)
The Dry, by Jane Harper (Pan)
The Love of a Bad Man, by Laura Elizabeth Woollett (Scribe)

True Crime:
Code of Silence, by Colin Dillon with Tom Gilling (Allen & Unwin)
Denny Day, by Terry Smyth (Ebury)
Getting Away with Murder, by Duncan McNab (Vintage)
Roger Rogerson, by Duncan McNab (Hachette Australia)
Murder at Myall Creek, by Mark Tedeschi (Simon & Schuster)
The Drowned Man, by Brendan James Murray (Echo)

Winners will be declared on September 1 during the annual Ned Kelly Awards Presentation in Melbourne, Victoria.

No comments: