Sunday, April 16, 2017

Provisionally Peculier

Peter May, Antonia Hodgson, Mark Billingham, and Susie Steiner are among the 18 authors whose works are vying for this year’s Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, according to an announcement. Here’s the full list:

Die of Shame, by Mark Billingham (Little, Brown)
Night School, by Lee Child (Bantam Press)
Lie With Me, by Sabine Durrant (Mulholland)
Tastes Like Fear, by Sarah Hilary (Headline)
The Darkest Secret, by Alex Marwood (Sphere)
Out of Bounds, by Val McDermid (Little, Brown)
Even Dogs in the Wild, by Ian Rankin (Orion)
Birdwatcher, by William Shaw (Riverrun)
The Woman in Cabin 10, by Ruth Ware (Harvill Secker)
Black Widow, by Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
After You Die, by Eva Dolan (Harvill Secker)
Real Tigers, by Mick Herron (John Murray)
The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins, by Antonia Hodgson (Hodder & Stoughton)
Coffin Road, by Peter May (Riverrun)
Those We Left Behind, by Stuart Neville (Harvill Secker)
Murderabilia, by Craig Robertson (Simon & Schuster)
Missing, Presumed, by Susie Steiner (Borough Press)
Stasi Wolf, by David Young (Zaffre)

From these choices, judges will develop a shortlist of half a dozen titles, to be publicized on May 20. The overall winner will be selected by those judges, as well as through a public online vote, and is scheduled to be declared on July 20 during the 15th Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, England.

No comments: