Tuesday, February 07, 2017

Who’ll Take Home the Bronze?

It was just over three months ago that the North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers made the announcement that Lisa Sandlin’s The Do-Right had won the 2015 Hammett Prize for “literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a U.S. or Canadian author.” Yet here we are again, with a brand-new list of IACW candidates, this time vying for the 2016 Hammett Prize.

As reported by Mystery Fanfare, these are the five nominees:

The Second Life of Nick Mason, by Steve Hamilton (Putnam)
The Drifter, by Nicholas Petrie (Putnam)
The White Devil, by Domenic Stansberry (Molotov Editions)
Revolver, by Duane Swierczynki (Mulholland)
The Big Nothing, by Bob Truluck (Murmur House)

This year’s Hammett winner is set to be declared during the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association’s Fall Conference, to be held in Cherry Hill, New Jersey, from October 6 to 8. As Mystery Fanfare notes, that victor “will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger.” Congratulations to all of the contenders!

No comments: