Wednesday, July 08, 2015

Double Victors, Singular Talents

It was announced during a cocktail party held this evening in New York City that Laura Lippman and Megan Abbott are both winners of the 2014 Strand Magazine Critics Award for Best Novel. Lippman received the honor for After I’m Gone (Morrow), while Abbott was celebrated for her seventh novel, The Fever (Little, Brown).

Also nominated in The Strand’s Best Novel category were Jack of Spies, by David Downing (Soho Crime), The Secret Place, by Tana French (Viking), Fear Nothing, by Lisa Gardner (Dutton), and Die Again, by Tess Gerritsen (Ballantine).

In the meantime, Elizabeth Little’s Dear Daughter (Viking) captured the Critics Award for Best First Novel. Contending for that same prize were Dry Bones in the Valley, by Tom Bouman (Norton), The Home Place, by Carrie La Seur (Morrow), Ice Shear, by M.P. Cooley (Morrow), Confessions, by Kanae Minato, translated by Stephen Snyder (Mulholland), and The Good Girl, by Mary Kubica (Mira).

Additionally, editor-bookseller Otto Penzler received The Strand’s Lifetime Achievement award for his contributions to crime fiction.

No comments: