Sunday, September 07, 2014

McKinty Leads the Pack

During events last evening at Australia’s Brisbane Writers Festival, the winners of the 2014 Ned Kelly Awards were announced as follows:

Best Crime Novel:
In the Morning I’ll Be Gone, by Adrian McKinty (Serpent’s Tail)

Also nominated: Bitter Wash Road, By Garry Disher (Text); Fatal Impact, by Kathryn Fox (Pan Macmillan); Beams Falling, by P.M. Newton (Penguin); One Boy Missing, by Stephen Orr (Text); and The Dying Beach, by Angela Savage (Text)

Best First Crime Novel:
Hades, by Candice Fox (Random House)

Also nominated: Dead Cat Bounce, by Peter Cotton (Scribe); Blood Witness, by Alex Hammond (Penguin); and Every Breath, by Ellie Marney (Tundra)

Best True Crime:
Murder in Mississippi, by John Safran (Blackfriars)

Also nominated: Disgraced? by Paul Dale (Five Mile Press); Forever Nine, by John Kidman and Denise Hofman (Five Mile Press); No Mercy, by Eleanor Learmonth and Jenny Tabakoff (Text); JFK: The Smoking Gun, by Colin McLaren (Hachette); and Outlaw Bikers in Australia, by Duncan McNab (Pan Macmillan)

Sandra Harvey Short Story Award:
“Web Design,” by Emma Viskic

Also nominated: “Housewarming,” by Louise Bassett; “The Scars of Noir,” by Darcy-Lee Tindale; “Voices of Soi 22,” by Roger Vickery; and “Splinter,” by Emma Viskic

(Hat tip to Fair Dinkum Crime.)

No comments: