Tuesday, April 01, 2014

Tall Order for Shorts

Because every news item is rather suspect today, let me begin here by saying that this is not an April Fool’s joke: The Short Mystery Fiction Society did indeed announce today the winners of its 2014 Derringer Awards as determined by a vote of SMFS members. They are:

Best Flash Story (Up to 1,000 words): “Luck Is What You Make,” by Stephen D. Rogers (Crime Factory, May 2013)

Also nominated: Final Statement,” by Robert Bailey (The Flash Fiction Offensive, July 18, 2013); “Not My Day,” by Stephen Buehler (from Last Exit to Murder, edited by Darrell James, Linda O. Johnston, and Tammy Kaehler; Down & Out Books); “The Needle and the Spoon,” by Allan Leverone (Shotgun Honey, November 15, 2013); and Terry Tenderloin and the Pig Thief,” by John Weagly (Shotgun Honey, June 21, 2013)

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words): “The Present,” by Robert Lopresti (The Strand Magazine, February-May 2013)

Also nominated: “Pretty Little Things,” by Chris F. Holm (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, July 2013); “The Sweetheart Scamster,” by Rosemary McCracken (from Thirteen: An Anthology of Crime Stories, edited by M.H. Callway, Donna Carrick, and Joan O’Callaghan; Carrick); The Little Outlaw,” by Mike Miner (Plan B Magazine,
August 9, 2013); and “The Cemetery Man,” by Bill Pronzini (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, July 2013)

Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words): “Give Me a Dollar,” by Ray Daniel (from Best New England Crime Stories 2014: Stone Cold, edited by Mark Ammons, Katherine Fast, Barbara Ross, and Leslie Wheeler; Level Best Books)

Also nominated: “Myrna,” by John Bubar (from Best New England Crime Stories 2014: Stone Cold); “Bloody Signorina,” by Joseph D’Agnese (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine [AHMM], September 2013); “Dance Man,” by Andrew Jetarski (from Last Exit to Murder); and “A Dangerous Life" by Adam Purple (from Best New England Crime Stories 2014: Stone Cold)

Best Novelette (8,001-20,000 words): “The Goddaughter’s Revenge,” by Melodie Campbell (Orca Rapid Reads, October 2013)

Also nominated: “The Serpent Beneath the Flower,” by Jack Bates (Mind Wings Audio, April 2013); “For Love’s Sake,” by O’Neil De Noux (AHMM, July/August 2013); “The Antiquary’s Wife,” by William Burton McCormick (AHMM, March 2013); and “Last Night in Cannes,” by James L. Ross (AHMM, November 2013)

In addition, the Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement went to Ed Gorman.

(Hat tip to Mystery Fanfare.)

No comments: