Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Grand Times for Crais and Hart

The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has announced that authors Robert Crais and Carolyn Hart will both receive its 2014 Grand Master Awards, “represent[ing] the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing.” Those two join a pantheon of previous Grand Masters that includes Martha Grimes, James Lee Burke, Bill Pronzini, Robert B. Parker, Helen McCloy, and many others.

In addition, the MWA has chosen Aunt Agatha’s bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan, as the winner of its 2014 Raven Award, “recognize[ing] outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside the realm of creative writing.”

These commendations will be presented, together with the rest of next year’s Edgar Awards, during a banquet in New York City on May 1.

Our hearty congratulations go out to all the winners.

(Hat tip to Mystery Fanfare.)

No comments: