Monday, May 28, 2012

Best in Show

I spent the Memorial Day weekend far away from my office, in beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia. Returning to Seattle late this afternoon, I discovered that I had missed word of the 2012 CrimeFest award winners. The names of those recipients were announced on Saturday night during the annual CrimeFest convention in Bristol, England. Here are the award winners and other nominees.

The Goldsboro Last Laugh Award (for the best humorous crime novel): Absolute Zero Cool, by Declan Burke (Liberties Press)

Also nominated: Killed at the Whim of a Hat, by Colin Cotterill (Quercus); The Good Thief’s Guide to Venice, by Chris Ewan (Simon & Schuster); Bryant & May and The Memory of Blood, by Christopher Fowler (Doubleday); Star Island, by Carl Hiaasen (Sphere); Smokeheads, by Doug Johnstone (Faber and Faber); Djibouti, by Elmore Leonard (Weidenfeld & Nicolson); and Herring on the Nile, by L.C. Tyler (Macmillan)

Sounds of Crime Best Abridged Crime Audiobook: The Affair, by Lee Child; read by Kerry Shale (Random House Audiobooks)

Also nominated: First Frost, by James Henry; read by David Jason (Random House Audiobooks); The Payback, by Simon Kernick; read by Daniel Weyman (Random House Audiobooks); Drawing Conclusions, by Donna Leon; read by Andrew Sachs (Random House Audiobooks); and The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party, by Alexander McCall Smith; read by Adjoa Andoh (Hachette Digital)

Sounds of Crime — Best Unabridged Crime Audiobook: Before I Go to Sleep, by S.J. Watson; read by Susannah Harker (Random House Audio with AudioGO)

Also nominated: Rivers of London, by Ben Aaronovitch; read by Kobna (Orion Audio/Holdbrook-Smith); The Fifth Witness, by Michael Connelly; read by Peter Giles (Orion Audio); The Fallen Angel, by David Hewson; read by Saul Reichlin (Whole Story Audio Books); and The House of Silk, by Anthony Horowitz; read by Derek Jacobi (Orion Audio)

The eDunnit Award (for the best crime-fiction e-book first published in both hardcopy and in electronic format: The End of the Wasp Season, by Denise Mina (Orion)

Also nominated: The Accident, by Linwood Barclay (Orion); Burned, by Thomas Enger (Faber and Faber); Moonlight Mile, by Dennis Lehane (Little, Brown); Death on the Rive Nord, by Adrian Magson (Allison & Busby); Black Flowers, by Steve Mosby (Orion); and The Cut, by George Pelecanos (Orion)

(Hat tip to Omnimystery News.)

READ MORE:On Winning the Goldsboro ‘Last Laugh’ Award, and Failing Better,” by Declan Burke (Crime Always Pays).

1 comment:

buddy2blogger said...

I loved 'The House of Silk'.

Check out my review .