Thursday, April 12, 2012

Valuing Track Records

The British Crime Writers’ Association has announced its longlist of nominees for the 2012 Dagger in the Library Award.

“Unlike most other literary prizes,” the CWA explains on its Web site, “the Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for the author’s body of work. ... The nominated authors must be alive, preferably working in Britain, and cannot have won the award before. As the award is for a body of work, authors should have published at least three books.”

Last year’s winner was Mo Hayder. This time around there are 15 authors vying to capture the CWA prize. They are:

Simon Beckett
Belinda Bauer
S.J. Bolton
Gordon Ferris
Frances Brody
Elena Forbes
Nicci French
Elly Griffiths
John Harvey
Susan Hill
Shona MacLean
Peter May
Steve Mosby
Imogen Robertson
M.J. Trow

A shortlist of contenders is to be released in May, with the winner to rewarded at a ceremony this coming summer.

Congratulations to all of the nominees.

No comments: