Monday, June 27, 2011

Crime Among the Kiwis

New Zealand journalist and book critic Craig Sisterson has announced the longlist of nominees for the second annual Ngaio Marsh Award. This commendation is presented to the crime, mystery, or thriller novel that a panel of local and international judges believes was the best one written by a New Zealand citizen or resident, and published in the previous year. Contenders for the 2011 prize are:

Slaughter Falls, by Alix Bosco
Blood Men, by Paul Cleave
Captured, by Neil Cross
Death in the Kingdom, by Andrew Grant
Surrender, by Donna Malane
The Crime of Huey Dunstan, by James McNeish
Hunting Blind, by Paddy Richardson
The Fallen, by Ben Sanders

A shortlist of finalists will be broadcast on August 1. On August 21, the 2011 Ngaio Marsh Award will be presented as part of the Christchurch Arts Festival. Also on hand for that event will be best-selling writers Tess Gerritsen and John Hart.

For more information about this award, check Sisterson’s blog, Crime Watch, and the Ngaio Marsh Award Facebook page.

Last year’s Ngaio Marsh Award winner was Alix Bosco.

(Hat tip to Mystery Fanfare.)

No comments: