Thursday, April 28, 2011

Matching Edgars with Authors

Thanks to Spinetingler Magazine and its reporter-on-the-spot, Elaine Ash, we now have the winners of this year’s Edgar Allan Poe Awards, announced tonight during a Mystery Writers of America banquet at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

Best Novel: The Lock Artist, by Steve Hamilton (Minotaur)

Also nominated: Caught, by Harlan Coben (Dutton); Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, by Tom Franklin (Morrow); Faithful Place, by Tana French (Viking); The Queen of Patpong, by Timothy Hallinan (Morrow); and I’d Know You Anywhere, by Laura Lippman (Morrow)

Best First Novel by an American Author: Rogue Island, by Bruce DeSilva (Forge)

Also nominated: The Poacher’s Son, by Paul Doiron (Minotaur); The Serialist, by David Gordon (Simon & Schuster); Galveston, by Nic Pizzolatto (Scribner); and Snow Angels, by James Thompson (Putnam)

Best Paperback Original: Long Time Coming, by Robert Goddard (Bantam)

Also nominated: The News Where You Are, by Catherine O’Flynn (Henry Holt); Expiration Date, by Duane Swierczynski (Minotaur); Vienna Secrets, by Frank Tallis (Random House); and Ten Little Herrings, by L.C. Tyler (Felony & Mayhem Press)

Best Fact Crime: Scoreboard, Baby: A Story of College Football, Crime, and Complicity, by Ken Armstrong and Nick Perry (University of Nebraska Press-Bison)

Also nominated: The Eyes of Willie McGee: A Tragedy of Race, Sex, and Secrets in the Jim Crow South, by Alex Heard (HarperCollins); Finding Chandra: A True Washington Murder Mystery, by Scott Higham and Sari Horwitz (Scribner); Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, by Hampton Sides (Doubleday); and The Killer of Little Shepherds: A True Crime Story and the Birth of Forensic Science, by Douglas Starr (Knopf)

Best Critical/Biographical: Charlie Chan: The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and his Rendezvous with American History, by Yunte Huang (Norton)

Also nominated: The Wire: Truth Be Told, by Rafael Alvarez (Grove Press); Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making, by John Curran (HarperCollins); Sherlock Holmes for Dummies, by Steven Doyle and David A. Crowder (Wiley); and Thrillers: 100 Must Reads, edited by David Morrell and Hank Wagner (Oceanview Publishing)

Best Short Story: “The Scent of Lilacs,” by Doug Allyn (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, September/October 2010)

Also nominated: “The Plot,” by Jeffery Deaver (from First Thrills, edited by Lee Child; Forge); “A Good Safe Place,” by Judith Green (from Thin Ice, edited by Mark Ammons, Kat Fast, Barbara Ross, and Leslie Wheeler; Level Best Books); “Monsieur Alice Is Absent, by Stephen Ross (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, October 2010); and “The Creative Writing Murders,” by Edmund White (from Dark End of the Street, edited by Jonathan Santlofer and S.J. Rozan; Bloomsbury)

Best Juvenile: The Buddy Files: The Case of the Lost Boy, by Dori Hillestad Butler (Albert Whitman & Co.)

Also nominated: Zora and Me, by Victoria Bond and T.R. Simon (Candlewick Press); The Haunting of Charles Dickens, by Lewis Buzbee (Feiwel & Friends); Griff Carver: Hallway Patrol, by Jim Krieg (Razorbill); and The Secret Life of Ms. Finkleman, by Ben H. Winters (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Best Young Adult: The Interrogation of Gabriel James, by Charlie Price (Farrar, Straus and Giroux Books for Young Readers)

Also nominated: The River, by Mary Jane Beaufrand (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers); Please Ignore Vera Dietz, by A.S. King (Knopf Books for Young Readers); 7 Souls, by Barnabas Miller and Jordan Orlando (Delacorte Books for Young Readers); and Dust City, by Robert Paul Weston (Razorbill)

Best Play: The Psychic, by Sam Bobrick (Falcon Theatre, Burbank, California)

Also nominated: The Tangled Skirt, by Steve Braunstein (New Jersey Repertory Co.), and The Fall of the House, by Robert Ford (Alabama Shakespeare Festival)

Best Television Episode Teleplay: “Episode 1,” Luther, teleplay by Neil Cross (BBC America)

Also nominated: “Episode 4,” Luther, teleplay by Neil Cross (BBC America); “Full Measure,” Breaking Bad, teleplay by Vince Gilligan (AMC/Sony); “No Mas,” Breaking Bad, teleplay by Vince Gilligan (AMC/Sony); and “The Next One’s Gonna Go In Your Throat,” Damages, teleplay by Todd A. Kessler, Glenn Kessler, and Daniel Zelman (FX Networks)

The Simon & Schuster-Mary Higgins Clark Award: The Crossing Places, by Elly Griffiths (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Also nominated: Wild Penance, by Sandi Ault (Berkley Prime Crime); Blood Harvest, by S.J. Bolton (Minotaur); Down River, by Karen Harper (Mira); and Live to Tell, by Wendy Corsi Staub (Avon)


Robert L. Fish Memorial Award: “Skyler Hobbs and the Rabbit Man,” by Evan Lewis (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, February 2010)

Grand Master: Sara Paretsky

Raven Awards: Centuries & Sleuths (owned by Augie Alesky) in Chicago, and Once Upon a Crime (owned by Pat Frovarp and Gary Schulze) in Minneapolis, Minnesota

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

READ MORE: Fear and Loathing at the Edgars” and “Fear and Loathing at the Edgars, Part Two,” by Elaine Ash and Albert Tucher (Spinetingler Magazine); “Edgar Week in New York,” by Ruth Jordan (Crimespree Magazine); “Fear and Loathing at the Edgars: Part 3, Sober Reflection,” by Elaine Ash (Spinetingler Magazine).

No comments: