Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Libraries Love ’Em Back

This morning brings a report from the British Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) of its longlist of contenders for the 2011 Dagger in the Library Award. As a press release explains, “Authors are nominated by UK libraries and readers’ groups and judged by a panel of librarians. The Dagger is awarded to an author for a body of work, rather than a single title. The prize money is £1,500 to the author, plus £300 to a participating library’s readers’ group.”

Without further ado, then, this year’s nominees:

S.J. Bolton (Bantam Press)
William Brodrick (Little, Brown)
R.J. Ellory (Orion)
Jason Goodwin (Faber and Faber)
Elly Griffths (Quercus)
Sophie Hannah (Hodder & Stoughton)
John Harvey (William Heinemann)
Mo Hayder (Bantam Press)
Susan Hill (Vintage)
Graham Hurley (Orion)
Peter James (Macmillan)
Philip Kerr (Quercus)
Phil Rickman (Quercus/Corvus)
C.J. Sansom (Macmillan)
Andrew Taylor (Penguin)
L.C. Tyler (Macmillan)

An abbreviated account of finalists will be presented during this coming May’s CrimeFest, at  a special reception on May 20 organized by the CWA. The Dagger in the Library Award winner will be announced, along with other 2011 Dagger recipients, on July 22 at the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, England.

No comments: