Wednesday, February 09, 2011

The Barry Best

George Easter, the editor of Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine, has announced the 2010 Barry Award nominations. They are:

Best Novel:
Nowhere to Run, by C.J. Box (Putnam)
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, by Tom Franklin (Morrow)
The Lock Artist, by Steve Hamilton (Minotaur)
Moonlight Mile, by Dennis Lehane (Morrow)
Bury Your Dead, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)
Savages, Don Winslow (Simon & Schuster)

Best First Novel:
Gutshot Straight, by Lou Berney (Morrow)
Rogue Island, by Bruce DeSilva (Forge)
The Poacher’s Son, by Paul Doiron (Minotaur)
The Sherlockian, by Graham Moore (Twelve)
The Holy Thief, by William Ryan (Minotaur)
Once a Spy, by Keith Thomson (Doubleday)

Best British Novel:
Started Early, Took My Dog, by Kate Atkinson (Doubleday)
Blood Harvest, by S.J. Bolton (Bantam Press)
The Whisperers, by John Connolly (Hodder & Stoughton)
The Woodcutter, by Reginald Hill (HarperCollins)
Three Seconds, by Anders Roslund and Börge Hellström (Quercus)
Fourth Day, by Zoë Sharp (Allison & Busby)

Best Paperback Original:
The Hanging Tree, by Bryan Gruley (Touchstone)
The Dead Lie Down, by Sophie Hannah (Penguin)
Eggsecutive Orders, by Julie Hyzy (Berkley)
Fever at the Bone, by Val McDermid (Harper)
The Rhetoric of Death, by Judith Rock (Berkley)
A Small Death in the Great Glen, by A.D. Scott (Atria)

Best Thriller:
13 Hours, by Deon Meyer (Grove Atlantic)
American Assassin, by (Atria)
The Bricklayer, by Noah Boyd (Harper)
Bolt Action, by Charles Charters (Hodder UK)
On Target, by Mark Greaney (Jove)
The Rembrandt Affair, by Daniel Silva (Putnam)

Best Short Story:
“Requiem for Antlers,” by Mitch Alderman (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine [AHMM], January-February 2010)
“Family Values,” by Robert Barnard (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], February 2010)
“The Body in the Dunes,” by Caroline Benton (EQMM, January 2010)
“The List,” by Loren D. Estleman (EQMM, May 2010)
“The Seven Sorrows,” by Terence Faherty (EQMM, March-April 2010)
“When the Apricots Bloom,” by Ellen Larson (AHMM, July-August 2010)

Voting will be done by Deadly Pleasures readers, with news of the Barry Award winners to come during this fall’s Bouchercon in St. Louis.

No comments: