Sunday, November 21, 2010

The Swede Smell of Success

Uriah Robinson (aka Norman Price) of Crime Scraps brings the results of two Swedish crime-fiction competitions.

Winning the 2010 Best Swedish Crime Novel Award, sponsored by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy (Svenska Deckarakademin), is Den döende detektiven, by Leif G.W. Persson (Albert Bonniers förlag). Also nominated were Bittrare än döden, by Camilla Grebe and Åsa Träff (W & W); Paganinikontraktet, by Lars Kepler (Albert Bonniers förlag); Mike Larssons rymliga hjärta, by Olle Lönnaeus (Damm); and Tusenskönor, by Kristina Ohlsson (Piratförlaget).

Meanwhile, the 2010 Martin Beck Award (named after the fictional detective created by Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö) has gone to Devils Peak (Devil’s Peak), by Deon Meyer (Weyler). Contending for that prize, as well, were Sista Beställningen på Balt, by Faïsa Guène (Norstedts); Dödsmässa (Midnight Fugue), by Reginald Hill (Minotaur); Mörka strömmar (Myrká), by Arnaldur Indridason (Norstedts); and John Stones fall (Stone’s Fall), by Iain Pears (Brombergs).

No comments: