Monday, August 02, 2010

The People’s Choices

After soliciting nominations from the reading public, Crimespree Magazine today announced its list of contenders for the 2010 Crimespree Awards in three categories:

Favorite Book of 2009:
Bury Me Deep, by Megan Abbott (Simon & Schuster)
Tower, by Ken Bruen and Reed Farrel Coleman (Busted Flush Press)
Trust No One, by Gregg Hurwitz (St. Martin’s Press)
The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death, by Charlie Huston (Ballantine Books)
The Amateurs, Marcus Sakey (Dutton)

Favorite First Book 2009:
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley (Delacorte)
Running from the Devil, by Jamie Freveletti (Morrow)
Even, by Andrew Grant (Minotaur)
A Bad Day for Sorry, by Sophie Littlefield (Minotaur)
The Ghosts of Belfast, by Stuart Neville (Soho Crime)

Best Book in an Ongoing Series for 2009:
The Silent Hour, by Michael Koryta (Minotaur)
Shatter, by Michael Robotham (Doubleday)
The Shanghai Moon, by S.J. Rozan (Minotaur)
Walking Dead, by Greg Rucka (Bantam)
Truth, by Peter Temple (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

The winners of these three commendations, plus this year’s recipient of the Jack Reacher Award (presented to authors who “give back to their communities”) will be declared during opening night ceremonies at Bouchercon in San Francisco (October 14-17).

No comments: