Sunday, May 02, 2010

Malice Toward Many

Those Malice Domestic folks, they sure do love Canadian novelist Louise Penny. For the second year in a row, Penny has won the Agatha Award for Best Novel. That announcement came yesterday during the three-day Malice Domestic conference in Arlington, Virginia. Other Agatha Award recipients were as follows:

Best Novel: A Brutal Telling, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

Also nominated: Swan for the Money, by Donna Andrews (Minotaur); Bookplate Special, by Lorna Barrett (Berkley Prime Crime); Royal Flush, by Rhys Bowen (Berkley Prime Crime); and Air Time, by Hank
Phillippi Ryan (Mira)

Best First Novel: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan
Bradley (Delacorte Press)

Also nominated: For Better, for Murder, by Lisa Bork (Midnight Ink); Posed for Murder, by Meredith Cole (Minotaur); The Cold Light of Mourning, by Elizabeth Duncan (St. Martin’s Press); and In the Shadow of Gotham, by Stefanie Pintoff (Minotaur)

Best Non-fiction: Dame Agatha’s Shorts, by Elena Santangelo
(Bella Rosa Books)

Also nominated: Duchess of Death, by Richard Hack (Phoenix Books); Talking About Detective Fiction, by P.D. James (Knopf); Blood on the Stage, 1925-1950, by Amnon Kabatchnik (Scarecrow Press); and The Talented Miss Highsmith, by Joan Schenkar (St. Martin’s Press)

Best Short Story: “On the House,” by Hank Phillippi Ryan (from Quarry, edited by Kate Flora, Ruth McCarty, and Susan Oleksiw; Level Best Books)

Also nominated: “Femme Sole,” by Dana Cameron (from Boston Noir, edited by Dennis Lehane; Akashic Books); “Handbaskets, Drawers, and Killer Cold,” by Kaye George(from Crooked); “The Worst Noel,” by Barb Goffman (from The Gift of Murder, edited by John M. Floyd; Wolfmont Press); and “Death Will Trim Your Tree,” by Elizabeth Zelvin (from The Gift of Murder)

Best Children’s/Young Adult Novel: The Hanging Hill, by Chris Grabenstein (Random House)

Also nominated: The Morgue and Me, by John C. Ford (Viking Juvenile); The Case of the Poisoned Pig, by Lewis B. Montgomery (Kane Press); The Other Side of Blue, by Valerie O. Patterson (Clarion Books); and The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline, by Nancy Springer (Philomel)

In addition, a Lifetime Achievement Award was given to novelist Mary Higgins Clark, while noted TV scriptwriter and author William Link (The Columbo Collection) received the Poirot Award.

(Hat tip to Classic Mysteries.)

No comments: