Saturday, May 01, 2010

Brief Companions

Winners of the 2010 Derringer Awards, presented by the Short Mystery Fiction Society, were announced this morning. The recipients are ...

Best Flash Story (up to 1,000 words): “And Here’s to You, Mrs. Edwardson,” by Hamilton Waymire (Big Pulp, November 23, 2009)

Also nominated: “Awake,” by David Dean (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], July 2009); “Gutterball,” by Stephen D. Rogers (Woman’s World Magazine, September 7, 2009); “The Right Track,” by R.T. Lawton (Woman’s World Magazine, October 26, 2009); and “Unplanned,” by Libby Cudmore (Thrillers, Killers ’n’ Chillers, August 2009)

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words): “’Twas the Night,” by Anita Page (in The Gift of Murder, edited by John M. Floyd; Wolfmont Press)

Also nominated: “Identity Theft,” by Robert Weibezahl (Beat to a Pulp, March 2009); “The Biography of Stoop the Thief,” by Steven Torres (in Uncage Me!, edited by Jen Jordan; Bleak House Books); “The Hard Sell,” by Jay Stringer (Beat to a Pulp, May 2009); and “The Right to Remain Silent,” by Debbi Mack (The Back Alley, August 2009)

Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words): “Famous Last Words,” by Doug Allyn (EQMM, November 2009)

Also nominated: “A Stab in the Heart,” by Twist Phelan (EQMM, February 2009); “Regarding Certain Occurrences in a Cottage at the Garden of Allah,” by Robert S. Levinson (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, November 2009); “Snow of Bloedkoppie,” by Berhard Jaumann (translated from the German by Mary Tannert; EQMM, August 2009); and “The Shipbreaker,” by Mike Wiecek (EQMM, March/April 2009)

Best Novelette (8,001-17,500 words): “Julius Katz,” by Dave Zeltserman (EQMM, September/October 2009)

Also nominated: “Adjuncts Anonymous,” by B.K. Stevens (EQMM, June 2009); “The Last Drop,” by R.W. Kerrigan (EQMM, February 2009); “The Pirate’s Debt,” by Toni L.P. Kelner (EQMM, August 2009); and “Uncle Brick and Jimmy Kills,” by Allan Leverone (Mysterical-E, Summer 2009)

In addition, author Lawrence Block is the 2010 recipient of the Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement.

No comments: