Thursday, October 15, 2009

They’re Handing Out Prizes in Indy

I was in my car, picking up some groceries from my local Safeway, when correspondent Ali Karim called in from Indianapolis to announce tonight’s various award recipients at Bouchercon. It seems he’d just accepted the Barry Award for Best Novel on behalf of Icelandic author Arnaldur Indridason, and was clearly in need of relaxation and a libation. I recorded the names of the victors as he recited them over the phone (just like in my early days as a reporter!), and then raced back to my office to post this information.

The winners of the Derringer Awards and Crimespree Magazine’s annual commendations were previously announced, but those prizes were only handed out this evening. The other results are brand-new.


Best Mystery Novel: Where Memories Lie, by Deborah
Crombie (Morrow)

Also nominated: Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Morrow); The Price of Blood, by Declan Hughes (Morrow); The Draining Lake, by Arnaldur Indridason (Minotaur); Curse of the Spellmans, by Lisa Lutz (Simon & Schuster); The Cruelest Month, by Louise Penny (Minotaur); and The Fault Tree, by Louise Ure (Minotaur)

Best First Mystery: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,
by Stieg Larsson (Knopf)

Also nominated: Finding Nouf, by Zoë Ferraris (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt); Death of a Cozy Writer, by G.M. Malliet (Midnight Ink); Calumet City, by Charlie Newton (Simon & Schuster); An Innocent Client, by Scott Pratt (Onyx); A Carrion Death, by Michael Stanley (Harper; Headline); and The Blood Detective, by Dan
Waddell (Minotaur)

Best Non-fiction/Critical: African American Mystery Writers: A Historical and Thematic Study, by Frankie Y. Bailey
(McFarland & Company)

Also nominated: Hard-Boiled Sentimentality: The Secret History of American Crime Stories, by Leonard Cassuto (Columbia University Press); How to Write Killer Historical Mysteries, by Kathy Lynn Emerson (Perseverance Press); Scene of the Crime: The Importance of Place in Crime and Mystery Fiction, by David Geherin (McFarland & Company); Edgar Allan Poe: An Illustrated Companion to His Tell-Tale Stories, by Dr. Harry Lee Poe (Metro Books); and The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher: A Shocking Murder and the Undoing of a Great Victorian Detective, by Kate Summerscale (Walker)

Best Mystery Short Story: “The Night Things Changed,” by Dana Cameron (from Wolfsbane and Mistletoe, edited by Charlaine Harris and Toni L.P. Kelner; Ace)

Also nominated: “A Sleep Not Unlike Death,” by Sean Chercover (from Hardcore Hardboiled, edited by Todd Robinson; Kensington Publishing); “Keeping Watch Over His Flock,” by Toni L.P. Kelner (from Wolfsbane and Mistletoe); “Scratch a Woman,” by Laura Lippman (from Hardly Knew Her; Morrow); and “Between the Dark and the Daylight,” by Tom Piccirilli (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, September/October 2008)

Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery: A Royal Pain,
by Rhys Bowen (Berkley)

Also nominated: Stealing Trinity, by Ward Larsen (Oceanview); The Whiskey Rebels, by David Liss (Random House); Veil of Lies, by Jeri Westerson (Minotaur); Company of Liars, by Karen Maitland (Michael Joseph/ Delacorte); and Nox Dormienda, by Kelli Stanley (Five Star)


Best Novel: The Draining Lake, by Arnaldur Indridason (Minotaur)

Also nominated: Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Morrow); Envy the Night, by Michael Koryta (Minotaur); Red Knife, by William Kent Krueger (Atria); The Cruelest Month, by Louise Penny (Minotaur); and The Dawn Patrol, by Don Winslow

Best First Novel: Child 44, by Tom Rob Smith (Grand Central)

Also nominated: The Kind One, by Tom Epperson (Five Star); Stalking Susan, by Julie Kramer (Doubleday); City of the Sun, by David Levien (Doubleday); A Carrion Death, by Michael Stanley (Harper); and Sweeping Up Glass, by Carolyn D. Wall (Center Point)

Best British Novel: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson (MacLehose/Quercus)

Also nominated: A Simple Act of Violence, by R.J. Ellory (Orion); Ritual, by Mo Hayder (Bantam Press); Shatter, by Michael Robotham (Sphere); Bleeding Heart Square, by Andrew Taylor (Michael Joseph); and Bruno, Chief of Police, by Martin Walker (Quercus)

Best Paperback Original: State of the Onion, by Julie Hyzy (Berkley)

Also nominated: The First Quarry, by Max Allan Collins (Hard Case Crime); Money Shot, by Christa Faust (Hard Case Crime); The Black Path, by Åsa Larsson (Delta); Severance Package, by Duane Swierczynski; and Echoes from the Dead, by Johan Theorin (Doubleday)

Best Thriller: The Deceived, by Brett Battles (Delacorte)

Also nominated: Collision, by Jeff Abbott (Dutton); The Survivor, by Tom Cain (Bantam Press); Finder, by Colin Harrison (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux); Night of Thunder, by Stephen Hunter (Simon & Schuster); and Good People, by Marcus Sakey (Dutton)

Best Short Story: “The Drought,” by James O. Born (from The Blue Religion, edited by Michael Connelly; Little, Brown)

Also nominated: “The Fallen,” by Jan Burke (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], August 2008); “A Trace of a Trace,” by Brendan DuBois (from At the Scene of the Crime, edited by Dana Stabenow; Running Press); “A Killing in Midtown,” by G. Miki Hayden (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, January/February 2008); “Proof of Love,” by Mick Herron (EQMM, September/October 2008); and “The Problem of the Secret Patient,” by Edward D. Hoch
(EQMM, May 2008)

Don Sandstrom Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement in Mystery Fandom: Art Scott


Best Flash Story (up to 1,000 words): tie--“No Flowers for Stacey,” by Ruth McCarty (Deadfall: Crime Stories by New England Writers; Level Best Books); and “No Place Like Home,” by Dee Stuart (Mysterical-E)

Best Short Story (1,001 to 4,000 words):“The Cost of Doing Business,” by Michael Penncavage (published in ThugLit)

Best Long Story (4,001 to 8,000 words):“The Quick Brown Fox,” by Robert S. Levinson (published in Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine)

Best Novelette (8,001 to 17,500 words):“Too Wise,” by O’Neil De Noux (published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

2009 Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer Award for Lifetime Achievement: Clark Howard

For a full list of Derringer nominees, click here.


Favorite Book of 2008: Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Morrow)

Also nominated: Yellow Medicine, by Anthony Neil Smith (Bleak House); Envy the Night, by Michael Koryta (Minotaur); Chasing Darkness, by Robert Crais (Simon & Schuster); and Toros & Torsos, by Craig McDonald (Bleak House)

Best Book in an Ongoing Series: Chasing Darkness, by Robert
Crais (Simon & Schuster)

Also nominated: Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Morrow);
Toros & Torsos, by Craig McDonald (Bleak House); Another Thing to Fall, by Laura Lippman (Morrow); and the Duffy Dombrowski Mystery Series, by Tom Schreck (Midnight Ink)

Favorite Comics Writer: Brian Azzarello

Also nominated: Tim Broderick; B. Clay Moore; Ed Brubaker;
and Jason Aaron

Favorite Original Paperback: Money Shot, by Christa Faust
(Hard Case Crime)

Also nominated: Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse, by Victor Gischler (Touchstone); Severance Package, by Duane Swierczynski (St. Martin’s Minotaur); The Stolen, by Jason Pinter (Mira); and The Evil That Men Do, by Dave White (Three Rivers Press)

Favorite Mystery Bookstore: Once Upon a Crime, Minneapolis

Also nominated: The Mystery Bookstore, Los Angeles; Murder by the Book, Houston; Centuries & Sleuths, Forest Park, Illinois; and M Is for Mystery, San Mateo, California

And the Jack Reacher Award went to William Kent Krueger
(Heaven’s Keep)

Tomorrow night, during a banquet at The Slippery Noodle bar, the Private Eye Writers of America will hand out its Shamus Awards (nominees here), while the grand announcement of this year’s Anthony Awards is to be made on Saturday afternoon (with a list of the contenders to be found here.)

No comments: