Sunday, March 31, 2024

Owl Finds a Perch

Marc Cameron, a onetime U.S. marshal, now an author living in Alaska, has won this year’s Spotted Owl Award for his 2023 suspense novel, Breakneck. The Spotted Owl is presented annually by the Portland, Oregon-based Friends of Mystery organization to celebrate crime fiction produced by writers in the Pacific Northwest (Alaska, British Columbia, Canada, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington).

Breakneck was Cameron’s fifth novel starring Anchorage’s Arliss Cutter, a deputy U.S. marshal. A sixth installment in his series, Bad River, is due out from ‎Kensington in this coming July.

A Friends of Mystery press release says the group considered 39 nominees for the 2024 prize. Runners-up were:

2. Dana Stabenow for Not the Ones Dead
3. Dana Haynes for The Saint of Thieves
4. Sam Wiebe for Sunset and Jericho
5. Jon Talton for The Nurse Murders
6. James Bryne for Deadlock
7. Haris Orkin for License to Die
8. Frank Zafiro for Hope Dies Last
9 (tie). Orlando Davidson for Baseline Road and J.A. Jance for Collateral Damage

Cameron’s victory was announced during the March 28 meeting of Friends of Mystery. The Spotted Owl Award was established in 1995. A list of previous recipients can be found here.

No comments: