Thursday, January 12, 2023

Connelly, Fluke Secure Key MWA Honor

It used to be unusual for the Mystery Writers of America to name multiple Grand Master winners in a single year. But beginning in 2008, that practice became more commonplace. A news release issued earlier today shows the trend continuing into 2023. It reports that crime novelists Michael Connelly and Joanne Fluke have been chosen by the MWA board to receive next year’s Grand Master commendations.

Previous Grand Masters include Charlaine Harris, Jeffery Deaver, Barbara Neely, Martin Cruz Smith, Peter Lovesey, Jane Langton, Max Allan Collins, Ellen Hart, Walter Mosley, James Ellroy, Robert Crais, Bill Pronzini, Sara Paretsky, and 2022 winner Laurie R. King.

Three other special prizes will be presented by the MWA during its 77th Annual Edgar Awards Ceremony, which is to take place in New York City on April 27, 2023. The Crime Writers of Color association and Eddie Muller, host of the Turner Classic Movies series Noir Alley and founder/president of the Film Noir Foundation, have been designated to receive Raven Awards (recognizing “outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside the realm of creative writing”). Meanwhile, The Strand Magazine is to be presented with next year’s Ellery Queen Award (honoring “outstanding writing teams and outstanding people in the mystery-publishing industry”).

Congratulations to all of these prize winners!

No comments: