Thursday, November 20, 2008

Whatever You Say, Masters

Strangely, I don’t see word about this yet on the Mystery Writers of America Web site, but an MWA news release is already up at MarketWatch and Bill Crider’s blog. Apparently, authors James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton will be named as the organization’s latest two Grand Masters in 2009. The last time the MWA named more than one Grand Master in a year was back in 1978, when the honor was jointly bestowed upon the already much-applauded Daphne du Maurier, Dorothy B. Hughes, and Ngaio Marsh.

In announcing these awards, current MWA president Harry Hunsicker (Crosshairs) is quoted as saying: “One of the great pleasures of my tenure at the helm of MWA has been informing two of the most talented writers on the planet that they have been selected as Grand Master. As a longtime fan of both, I cannot think of two more deserving individuals.”

These dual Grand Master Awards will be given out during the 63rd annual Edgar Awards banquet, scheduled to be held on April 30 of next year in New York City.

Last year’s Grand Master was Bill Pronzini.


Gary Dobbs/Jack Martin said...

James Lee Burke deserves every award under the sun. Not read Grafton but she looks cute.

Anonymous said...

The MWA has just hit two home runs with one swing. Great decision.