Friday, July 22, 2022

Herron’s Theakston Success

British author Mick Herron’s Slough House (John Murray), the seventh entry in his series about an eccentric contingent of exiled MI5 agents, has won the 2022 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award. That announcement was made last evening, during the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, England.

Also in the running for this honor were The Night Hawks, by Elly Griffiths (Quercus); True Crime Story, by Joseph Knox (Penguin); Daughters of Night, by Laura Shepherd-Robinson (Pan); Midnight at Malabar House, by Vaseem Khan (Hodder Paperbacks); and The Last Thing to Burn, by Will Dean (Hodder Paperbacks).

Last year’s Crime Novel of the Year prize went to Chris Whitaker’s third novel, We Begin at the End (Zaffre).

In addition to Herron’s commendation, American author Michael Connelly was presented with the 2022 Theakston Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award.

(Hat tip to The Gumshoe Site.)

1 comment:

MI6 said...

On 22 July 2022 Mick Herron’s sardonic spy thriller series called Slough House won him the Theakston Old Peculier crime novel of the year award. If Jackson Lamb had won it he'd have had a huge hangover this morning but let's not dwell on what that might have sounded or smelt like. Both Mick Herron's Slough House series and the Burlington Files series of espionage thrillers by Bill Fairclough were initially rejected by risk averse publishers who probably didn't think espionage existed unless it was fictional and created by Ian Fleming or David Cornwell. It is therefore a genuine pleasure to see an anti-Bond anti-establishment novelist achieving immortality in Masham.