Friday, September 28, 2007

Filling the Macavitys

Number two and counting ... First it was the recipients of this year’s this year’s Barry Awards, announced during Bouchercon in Alaska. Now come the 2007 Macavity Award winners, as chosen by members of Mystery Readers International:

Best Mystery Novel: The Virgin of Small Plains, by Nancy Pickard (Ballantine)

Also nominated: Christine Falls, by Benjamin Black (Picador); The Janissary Tree, by Jason Goodwin (Farrar, Straus and Giroux); The Dead Hour, by Denise Mina (Bantam); Piece of My Heart, by Peter Robinson (McClelland & Stewart); and All Mortal Flesh, by Julia Spencer-Fleming (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

Best First Novel: Mr. Clarinet, by Nick Stone (Michael Joseph Ltd./Penguin)

Also nominated: Consigned to Death, by Jane K. Cleland (St. Martin’s Minotaur); 47 Rules of Highly Effective Bank Robbers, by Troy Cook (Capital Crime Press); The King of Lies, by John Hart (St. Martin’s Minotaur); and A Field of Darkness, by Cornelia Read (Mysterious Press)

Best Non-fiction: Mystery Muses: 100 Classics That Inspire Today’s Mystery Writers, edited by Jim Huang and Austin Lugar (Crum Creek)

Also nominated: The Beautiful Cigar Girl: Mary Rogers, Edgar Allan Poe, and the Invention of Murder, by Daniel Stashower (Dutton); and Don’t Murder Your Mystery: 24 Fiction Writing Techniques to Save Your Manuscript from Ending Up D.O.A., by Chris Roerden (Bella Rosa Books)

Best Short Story: “Till Death Do Us Part,” by Tim Maleeny (from Death Do Us Part: New Stories about Love, Lust, and Murder, edited by Harlan Coben; Little, Brown)

Also nominated: “Provenance,” by Robert Barnard (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, July 2006); “Disturbance in the Field,” by Roberta Isleib (from Seasmoke: Crime Stories by New England Writers, edited by Kate Flora, Ruth McCarty, and Susan Oleksiw; Level Best Books)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery: Oh Danny Boy, by Rhys Bowen (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

Also nominated: The Lightning Rule, by Brett Ellen Block (Morrow); The Bee’s Kiss, by Barbara Cleverly (Constable & Robinson); Dark Assassin, by Anne Perry (Ballantine); and Messenger of Truth, by Jacqueline Winspear (Holt)

Still to come from the busy halls of Bouchercon: the recipients of this year’s Anthony and Shamus awards.

No comments: