Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Jewell and Karber Earn Nibbies

In case you missed hearing about it, the 2024 British Book Awards—or Nibbies—were given out this last Monday night in London.

Lisa Jewell’s None of This Is True (Century) triumphed in the Crime & Thriller Book of the Year category. It topped rivals The Woman Who Lied, by Claire Douglas (Michael Joseph); Damascus Station, by David McCloskey (Swift Press); The Running Game, by Robert Galbraith (Sphere); and The Secret Hours, by Mick Herron (Baskerville).

Also of interest to Rap Sheet readers may be that G.T Karber’s first murder-mystery puzzle book, Murdle (Souvenir Press), won in the Non-fiction: Lifestyle and Illustrated category and picked up Book of the Year honors. Meanwhile, Georgian-Russian author Grigori Chkhartishvili, who pens historical mysteries under the byline “Boris Akunin,” became only the third recipient of the Freedom to Publish Award (following Arabella Pike and Salman Rushdie).

The annual British Book Awards are currently managed by The Bookseller, “the United Kingdom’s news medium of record for the publishing industry.”

No comments: