Tuesday, April 23, 2024

A Trio of Pinckleys

Let us all celebrate three women authors as the latest recipients of the Pinckley Prizes in Crime Fiction. Those annual commendations are named in memory of Diana Pinckley (1952-2012), a longtime crime-fiction columnist for the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper, and are given out in association with the Women’s National Book Association of New Orleans.

Alafair Burke, author of the Samantha Kincaid and Ellie Hatcher crime series, and a six-time collaborator with Mary Higgins Clark on the Under Suspicion series, has won the 2023 Pinckley Prize for Distinguished Body of Work. Previous recipients of that accolade include C.S. Harris, Megan Abbott, Sara Paretsky, Louise Penny, Ellen Hart, and Laura Lippman.

Meanwhile, Margot Douaihy has been named winner of the 2023 Pinckley Prize for Debut Fiction for her “lyrical crime novel” Scorched Grace. And Sascha Rothchild is the winner of the 2022 Pinckley Prize for Debut Novel for her first book Blood Sugar.

You can read more about all of these honors here.

No comments: