Thursday, January 19, 2023

The Edgars Elite

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) today announced the nominees for its 2023 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, “honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2022.”

Best Novel:
Devil House, by John Darnielle (MCD)
Like a Sister, by Kellye Garrett (Mulholland)
Gangland, by Chuck Hogan (Grand Central)
The Devil Takes You Home, by Gabino Iglesias (Mulholland)
Notes on an Execution, by Danya Kukafka (Morrow)
The Maid, by Nita Prose (Ballantine)

Best First Novel by an American Author:
Jackal, by Erin E. Adams (Bantam)
Don’t Know Tough, by Eli Cranor (Soho Crime)
Shutter, by Ramona Emerson (Soho Crime)
More Than You’ll Ever Know, by Katie Gutierrez (Morrow)
Portrait of a Thief, by Grace D. Li (Tiny Reparations)

Best Paperback Original:
Quarry’s Blood, by Max Allan Collins (Hard Case Crime)
On a Quiet Street, by Seraphina Nova Glass (Graydon House
Or Else, by Joe Hart (Thomas & Mercer)
Cleopatra’s Dagger, by Carole Lawrence (Thomas & Mercer)
A Familiar Stranger, by A.R. Torre (Thomas & Mercer)

Best Fact Crime:
Slenderman: Online Obsession, Mental Illness, and the Violent Crime of Two Midwestern Girls, by Kathleen Hale (Grove Press)
Tell Me Everything: The Story of a Private Investigation, by Erika Krouse (Flatiron)
Trailed: One Woman’s Quest to Solve the Shenandoah Murders, by Kathryn Miles (Algonquin)
American Caliph: The True Story of a Muslim Mystic, a Hollywood Epic, and the 1977 Siege of Washington, D.C., by Shahan Mufti (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
American Demon: Eliot Ness and the Hunt for America’s Jack the Ripper, by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur)

Best Critical/Biographical:
The Life of Crime: Detecting the History of Mysteries and Their Creators, by Martin Edwards (Collins Crime Club)
The Bloomsbury Handbook to Agatha Christie, by Mary Anna Evans and J.C. Bernthal (Bloomsbury Academic)
The Crime World of Michael Connelly: A Study of His Works and Their Adaptations, by David Geherin (McFarland)
The Woman Beyond the Attic: The V.C. Andrews Story, by Andrew Neiderman (Gallery)
Agatha Christie: An Elusive Woman, by Lucy Worsley (Pegasus Crime)

Best Short Story:
“Red Flag,” by Gregory Fallis (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine [AHMM], March/April)
“Backstory,” by Charles John Harper (AHMM, January/February)
“Locked-In,” by William Burton McCormick (AHMM, January/February)
“The Amnesty Box,” by Tim McLoughlin (from Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, by Tim McLoughlin; Akashic Press)
“First You Dream, Then You Die,” by Donna Moore (from Black Is the Night, edited by Maxim Jakubowski; Titan)

Best Juvenile:
The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada’s Reef. by Michael D. Beil (Pixel+Ink)
The Area 51 Files, by Julie Buxbaum (Delacorte Press)
Aggie Morton Mystery Queen: The Seaside Corpse, by Marthe Jocelyn (Tundra)
Adventures on Trains: Murder on the Safari Star, by M.G. Leonard and Sam Sedgman (Feiwel & Friends)
Chester Keene Cracks the Code, by Kekla Magoon (Wendy Lamb)

Best Young Adult:
Pretty Dead Queens, by Alexa Donne (Crown Books for Young Readers)
Frightmares, by Eva V. Gibson (Underlined)
The Black Girls Left Standing, by Juliana Goodman (Feiwel & Friends)
The Red Palace, by June Hur (Feiwel & Friends)
Lock the Doors, by Vincent Ralph (Sourcebooks Fire)

Best Television Episode Teleplay:
“One Mighty and Strong,” Under the Banner of Heaven, written by Brandon Boyce (Hulu/FX)
“Episode 1,” Magpie Murders, written by Anthony Horowitz (Masterpiece/PBS)
“Episode 1,” Karen Pirie, written by Emer Kenny (BritBox)
“When Harry Met Fergus,” Harry Wild, written by David Logan (Acorn TV)
“The Reagan Way,” Blue Bloods, written by Siobhan Byrne O’Connor (CBS)
“Eighteen Wheels a Predator,” Law & Order: SVU, written by Brianna Yellen and Monet Hurst-Mendoza (NBC Universal)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award:
“Dogs in the Canyon,” by Mark Harrison (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, September/October)

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award:
Because I Could Not Stop for Death, by Amanda Flower (Berkley)
The Woman in the Library, by Sulari Gentill (Poisoned Pen Press)
The Disinvited Guest, by Carol Goodman (Morrow)
A Dreadful Splendor, by B.R. Myers (Morrow)
Never Name the Dead, by D.M. Rowell (Crooked Lane)

The G.P. Putnam’s Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award:
Secret Lives, by Mark de Castrique (Poisoned Pen Press)
An Unforgiving Place, by Claire Kells (Crooked Lane)
Hideout, by Louisa Luna (Doubleday)
Behind the Lie, by Emilya Naymark (Crooked Lane)
Secrets Typed in Blood, by Stephen Spotswood (Doubleday)

The Lilian Jackson Braun Memorial Award:
The Shadow of Memory, by Connie Berry (Crooked Lane)
Buried in a Good Book, by Tamara Berry (Poisoned Pen Press)
Smile Beach Murder, by Alicia Bessette (Berkley)
Desert Getaway, by Michael Craft (Brash)
The Marlow Murder Club, by Robert Thorogood (Poisoned Pen Press)


MWA Grand Master:
Michael Connelly
Joanne Fluke

Raven Award:
Crime Writers of Color
Eddie Muller for Noir Alley and The Noir Foundation

Ellery Queen Award:
The Strand Magazine

Winners will be announced during the 77th annual Edgar Awards presentation, which is to be held on April 27 at the New York Marriott Marquis Times Square.

No comments: