Wednesday, June 08, 2022

Bloody Good Choices

The Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival today released its longlist of candidates for the 2022 McIlvanney Prize.

A Matter of Time, by Claire Askew (Hodder)
The Sound of Sirens, by Ewan Galt (Leamington)
The Blood Tide, by Neil Lancaster (HarperCollins)
From the Ashes, by Deborah Masson (Transworld)
The Heretic, by Liam McIlvanney (HarperCollins)
Rizzio, by Denise Mina (Polygon)
May God Forgive, by Alan Parks (Canongate)
A Corruption of Blood, by Ambrose Parry (Canongate)
A Rattle of Bones, by Douglas Skelton (Polygon)
The Second Cut, by Louise Welsh (Canongate)

As Scottish Field observes, “Ten books are competing for the £1,000 award ... Two-and-a-half of the authors have won the prize before: Liam McIlvanney in 2018; Denise Mina in 2017; and Chris Brookmyre in 2016, who continues his lucky streak as 50% of ‘Ambrose Parry,’ having appeared on every longlist either as himself or half of his alter ego.”

From these 10 novels, a shortlist will be culled and finally announced in early September. This year’s winner is to be revealed at the start of the Bloody Scotland festival, September 15-18.

No comments: