Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Get Your Entries in Soon

Not even a full month of 2022 has passed yet, and we’re already hearing about crime-fiction prize competitions.

The UK-based Margery Allingham Society, “set up to honour and promote the writings of the great Golden Age author whose well-known hero is Albert Campion,” is soliciting submissions to its 2022 short-story contest. The Crime Writers’ Association is helping to organize and fund this event. Entries will be due by Monday, February 28.

As a news release explains,
Entrants are asked to focus on specific elements to match Margery Allingham’s definition of a mystery, which is: “The Mystery remains box-shaped, at once a prison and a refuge. Its four walls are, roughly, a Crime, a Mystery, an Enquiry and a Conclusion with an Element of Satisfaction in it.” The judging criteria rewards traditional mysteries that match this definition, as well as other criteria such as plot originality and characterisation. ...

The longlist for the prize will be revealed online and at the CWA conference on 23 April, followed by the shortlist online in May, and the winner will be announced at this year’s international crime writing convention, CrimeFest, on Friday 13 May.
Rules for entering, as well as other details, are to be found here.

* * *

In the meantime, Sisters in Crime has announced that, as of next Tuesday, February 1, it will begin accepting applications for the ninth annual Eleanor Taylor Bland Crime Fiction Writers of Color Award, designed to promote “emerging writers of color.” Thursday, March 31, is the deadline for candidates to submit their paperwork, with news of the 2022 winner expected sometime in May.

This prize honors African-American crime-fiction author Eleanor Taylor Bland, creator of the police detective Marti McAllister series (Dead Time, A Cold and Silent Dying, Suddenly a Stranger), who passed away in 2010. It includes a $2,000 grant. Among the previous recipients are Yasmin Angoe McClinton, Jessica Martinez, and Mia P. Manansala.

Click here to find complete guidelines to entering this competition, along with the actual application form.

No comments: