Tuesday, June 01, 2021

No Scarcity of Awards News Here

Although Britain’s annual CrimeFest had to be cancelled (again) this year, due to the lingering COVID-19 pandemic, its organizers today publicized the names of books an authors that have won the 2021 CrimeFest Awards, in seven different categories.

Specsavers Debut Crime Novel Award: The Man on the Street,
by Trevor Wood (Quercus)

Also nominated: The Creak on the Stairs, by Eva Bjorg Aegisdottir (Orenda); Summer of Reckoning, by Marion Brunet (Bitter Lemon Press); The Wreckage, by Robin Morgan-Bentley (Trapeze); The Thursday Murder Club, by Richard Osman (Viking); and City of Spies, by Mara Timon (Zaffre)

Audible Sounds of Crime Award: The Thursday Murder Club, by Richard Osman, read by Lesley Manville (Viking)

Also nominated: The Sentinel, by Lee Child and Andrew Child, read by Jeff Harding (Transworld); The Guest List, by Lucy Foley, read by Olivia Dowd, Aoife McMahon, Chloe Massey, Sarah Ovens, Rich Keeble, and Jot Davies (HarperFiction); Troubled Blood, by Robert Galbraith, read by Robert Glenister (Little, Brown); Moonflower Murders, by Anthony Horowitz, read by Lesley Manville and Allan Corduner (Penguin Random House Audio); Find Them Dead, by Peter James, read by Daniel Weyman (Pan); The Invisible Girl, by Lisa Jewell, read by Rebekah Staton (Penguin Random House Audio); Buried, by Lynda La Plante, read by Alex Hassell and Annie Aldington (Zaffre); The Catch, by T.M. Logan, read by Philip Stevens (Zaffre); and A Song for the Dark Times, by Ian Rankin, read by James Macpherson (Orion)

H.R.F. Keating Award: Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club, edited by Martin Edwards
(Collins Crime Club)

Also nominated: Agatha Christie’s Poirot: The Greatest Detective in the World, by Mark Aldridge (HarperCollins); Cover Me: The Vintage Art of Pan Books: 1950-1965, by Colin Larkin (Telos); Conan Doyle’s Wide World, by Andrew Lycett (Tauris Parke); The Reacher Guy, by Heather Martin (Little, Brown); H.R.F. Keating: A Life of Crime, by Sheila Mitchell (Level Best); Southern Cross Crime: The Pocket Essential Guide to the Crime Fiction, Film & TV of Australia and New Zealand, by Craig Sisterson (Oldcastle); and The Red Hand: Stories, Reflections and the Last Appearance of Jack Irish, by Peter Temple (Riverrun)

Last Laugh Award: Squeeze Me, by Carl Hiaasen (Little, Brown)

Also nominated: False Value, by Ben Aaronovitch (Gollancz); Bryant & May: Oranges and Lemons, by Christopher Fowler (Doubleday); The Postscript Murders, by Elly Griffiths (Quercus); The Thursday Murder Club, by Richard Osman (Viking); The Corpse in the Garden of Perfect Brightness, by Malcolm Pryce (Bloomsbury); Ride or Die, by Khurrum Rahman (HQ); and Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Vampire Menace, by Olga Wojtas (Contraband)

eDunnit Award: A Song for the Dark Times, by Ian Rankin (Orion)

Also nominated: The Hunted, by Gabriel Bergmoser (Faber); The Split, by Sharon Bolton (Trapeze); Little Boy Lost, by J.P. Carter (Avon); Fifty-Fifty, by Steve Cavanagh (Orion); Fair Warning, by Michael Connelly (Orion); A Private Cathedral, by James Lee Burke (Orion); and The Dead Line, by Holly Watt (Raven)

Best Crime Novel for Children (Ages 8-12): Anisha, Accidental Detective, by Serena Patel (Usborne)

Also nominated: Mission Shark Bytes, by Sophie Deen (Walker); A Girl Called Justice: The Smugglers’ Secret, by Elly Griffiths (Quercus Children’s Books); Nightshade, by Anthony Horowitz (Walker); My Headteacher Is an Evil Genius, by Jack Noel (Walker); School’s Cancelled, by Serena Patel (Usborne); The Night Bus Hero, by Onjali Q. Rauf (Orion Children’s Books); and The Pencil Case, by Dave Shelton (David Fickling)

Best Crime Novel for Young Adults (Ages 12-16): Eight Pieces of Silva, by Patrice Lawrence (Hodder Children’s Books)

Also nominated: Hideous Beauty, by William Hussey (Usborne); The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker, by Lauren James (Walker); Devil Darling Spy, by Matt Killeen (Usborne); Deadfall, by Simon Lelic (Hodder Children’s Books); Hacking, Heists & Flaming Arrows, by Robert Muchamore (Hot Key); Burn, by Patrick Ness (Walker); and The Case of the Missing Marquess, by Nancy Springer (Hot Key)

Congratulations to all of this year’s contenders!

* * *

With June being Pride Month here in the States, it’s appropriate that the Sisters in Crime organization should have chosen today to announce the winner of its inaugural Pride Award for Emerging LGBTQIA+ Crime Writers. That honor includes a grant of $2,000 to a new crime-fiction author who identifies as LGBTQIA+.

This year’s debut prize goes to C.J. Prince of West Orange, New Jersey. In a widely disseminated press statement, judges Cheryl Head, John Copenhaver, and Kristen Lepionka said: “C.J. Prince’s excerpt from her novel-in-progress, The Butcher’s Son, impressed with its fresh blend of gripping crime story and culture-clash narrative, in which a lesbian NYPD detective must confront the homophobia and dark secrets of the Orthodox Jewish community she left years ago. With clear prose, a strong ear for dialogue, and an immersive voice, Prince lays the groundwork for a dynamite mystery, gives us a strong sense of the Orthodox Jewish community, and introduces us to her main characters within only a few pages. It’s a deeply admirable beginning for what is promising to be a poignant page-turner. We are excited to see how the manuscript develops!”

On top of her prize money, Prince will receive a manuscript critique from Crooked Lane Books editor Terri Bischoff. Today’s announcement adds that another five runners-up will be paired with established Sisters in Crime member authors for manuscript critiques: “Sandy Bailey of Boston, MA (paired with Brenda Buchannan), Alix Freeman of Wellfleet, MA (Leslie Karst), A.L. Major of Oakland, CA (Jeffrey Marks), Mary Lewis Pierce of Maynard, MA (Anne Laughlin), and Jamie Valentino of New York, NY (Catherine Maiorisi). Eight additional long-list finalists will receive a membership to Sisters in Crime.”

* * *

Although horror fiction doesn’t generally fall within The Rap Sheet’s bailiwick, we know there are great numbers of crime-fiction fans who also read that other genre, so let us direct your attention to this list (from Literary Hub) of the 2021 Bram Stoker Award recipients. Those winners were declared last week during a virtual presentation at StokerCon, sponsored by the Horror Writers Association.

No comments: