Saturday, September 05, 2020

Critics Make Their Choices

During an online event held last evening, The Strand Magazine announced the winners of its 2020 Critics Awards, in two categories:

Best Mystery Novel:
The Sentence Is Death, by Anthony Horowitz (Harper)

Also nominated: Big Sky, by Kate Atkinson (Little, Brown); The Lost Man, by Jane Harper (Flatiron); Lady in the Lake, by Laura Lippman (Morrow); Heaven, My Home, by Attica Locke (Mulholland); and The Border, by Don Winslow (Morrow)

Best Debut Novel:
Miracle Creek, by Angie Kim (Sarah Crichton)

Also nominated: Scrublands, by Chris Hammer (Atria); One Night Gone, by Tara Laskowski (Graydon House); The Silent Patient, by Alex Michaelides (Celadon); and Three-Fifths, by John Vercher (Agora)

As previously reported, authors Walter Mosley and Tess Gerritsen are the recipients of this year’s Strand Lifetime Achievement Awards. And Bronwen Hruska of Soho Press was designated as the winner of the 2020 Publisher of the Year Award.

No comments: