Tuesday, September 22, 2020

A Missing Key No More

A reader comment attached to this post about a pair of prizes presented during last weekend’s online Bloody Scotland festival notes that I failed to mention the latest winner of the Glass Key Award Best Nordic Crime Novel. Indeed, it was an error—one I’ll correct now.

According to an English-translated story from the Web site Thrillers & More, 2020’s Glass Key was given in late August to Swedish writer Camilla Grebe for Skuggjägaren (The Shadow Hunter). This was Grebe’s second Glass Key win in three years; in 2008, she triumphed with her psychological thriller Diary of My Disappearance (aka After She’s Gone). “Only Stieg Larsson and Arnaldur Indriðason also won this prize twice,” Thrillers & More reports.

Four other novels vied as well for this year’s Glass Key: Dødfunden (Found Dead), by Gretelise Holm (Denmark); Den åttonde tärnan (The Eighth Bridesmaid), by Eva Frantz (Finland); Svik (Betrayal), by Lilja Sigurðardóttir (Iceland); and Kniv (Knife), by Jo Nesbø (Norway).

Belated congratulations to all of the nominees!

1 comment:

Unknown said...

Awesome! Thanks for the update (as per request, it can be difficult finding this info in English, much easier with your assistance). Some interesting books on this list, can't wait for the translations.