Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Let’s Hear It for Scottish Crime

Among the dozen works longlisted for the 2018 McIlvanney Prize—recognizing “excellence in Scottish crime writing”—is educator-author Liam McIlvanney, the winner of New Zealand’s 2014 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel and son of the late author after whom this commendation was named: William McIlvanney (Laidlaw). In a news release, judging chair Craig Sisterson notes that McIlvanney’s 11 rivals for this honor make up “an intriguing mix of previous winners, established crime-writing luminaries, some emerging talent, and a debut.” Here are all of the nominees:

Follow the Dead, by Lin Anderson (Macmillan)
Places in the Darkness, by Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
Presumed Dead, by Mason Cross (Orion)
The Man Between, by Charles Cumming (HarperCollins)
The Loch of the Dead, by Oscar De Muriel (Michael Joseph)
Perfect Death, by Helen Fields (HarperCollins)
Now She’s Gone, by Alison James (Bookouture)
The Quaker, by Liam McIlvanney (HarperCollins)
No Time to Cry, by James Oswald (Headline)
The Suffering of Strangers, by Caro Ramsay (Severn House)
The Hunter, by Andrew Reid (Headline)
The Photographer, by Craig Robertson (Simon & Schuster)

Finalists for the 2018 McIlvanney Prize will be revealed in early September. The winner is to be announced on September 21, during opening ceremonies for the Bloody Scotland crime-writing festival in Stirling, Scotland. Tickets for that event are available here.

No comments: