Thursday, March 08, 2018

Who’ll Bag the Hammett?

Yesterday we brought you the nominees for this year’s Lamba Literary Awards. Today, we have the contenders for the 2017 Hammett Prize. This commendation is given out by the North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers to “a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a U.S. or Canadian author.” Vying for that IACW/NA honor are:

The Marsh King’s Daughter, by Karen Dionne (Putnam)
The Tragedy of Brady Sims, by Ernest J. Gaines (Vintage)
August Snow, by Stephen Mack Jones (Soho Crime)
Two Days Gone, by Randall Silvis (Sourcebooks Landmark)

The latest winner of the Hammett Prize will be announced during the NoirCon conference in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, November 1-4. He or she will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger. Previous Hammett recipients are listed here.

(Hat tip to In Reference to Murder.)

UPDATE: Due to the death, in late March, of its co-director, Deen Kogan, this year’s NoirCon has been cancelled. An announcement of the 2017 Hammett Prize winner will be made instead on Friday, July 13, during ThrillerFest in New York City.

No comments: