Monday, November 20, 2017

MWA Credits Remarkable Contributions

The Mystery Writers of America has announced three people as the recipients of its 2018 Grand Master Awards: author and illustrator Jane Langton; screenwriter, producer, and short-story writer William Link, who (with Richard Levinson) co-created such TV classics as Mannix and Columbo; and British author Peter Lovesey, best known for his series featuring Sergeant Cribb and Peter Diamond. As Mystery Fanfare explains, “MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.”

At the same time, the MWA identified the 30-year-old Raven Bookstore in Lawrence, Kansas, and BOLO Books blogger Kristopher Zgorski as the winners of its Raven Award, which “recognizes outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside the realm of creative writing.” And it has decided to give the 2018 Ellery Queen Award (meant to honor “outstanding writing teams and outstanding people in the mystery-publishing industry”) to French translator, editor, and publisher Robert Pépin.

These prizes will be presented during the 72nd Annual Edgar Awards Banquet, set to take place at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on April 26, 2018. Congratulations to all of the winners!

1 comment:

Kristopher said...

Thank you, Jeff.