Wednesday, April 05, 2017

Thrilling Results to Come

Thanks to Mystery Fanfare blogger Janet Rudolph, we now have the list of 2017 Thriller Award nominees, in six categories. They are:

Best Hardcover Novel:
You Will Know Me, by Megan Abbott (Little, Brown)
Where It Hurts, by Reed Farrel Coleman (Putnam)
Before the Fall, by Noah Hawley (Grand Central)
Arrowood, by Laura McHugh (Spiegel & Grau)
Underground Airlines, by Ben H. Winters (Mulholland)

Best First Novel:
Deadly Kiss, by Bob Bickford (Black Opal)
Type and Cross, by J.L. Delozier (WiDo)
Recall, by David McCaleb (Lyrical Underground)
The Drifter, by Nicholas Petrie (Putnam)
Palindrome, by E.Z. Rinsky (Witness Impulse)

Best Paperback Original Novel:
In the Clearing, by Robert Dugoni (Thomas & Mercer)
The Body Reader, by Anne Frasier (Thomas & Mercer)
The Minoan Cipher, by Paul Kemprecos (Suspense)
Kill Switch, by Jonathan Maberry
(St. Martin’s Griffin)
Salvage, by Stephen Maher (Dundurn)

Best Short Story:
“The Business of Death,” by Eric Beetner (from Unloaded: Crime Writers Writing Without Guns, edited by Eric Beetner;
Down & Out)
“The Peter Rabbit Killers,” by Laura Benedict (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], July 2016)
“The Man from Away,” by Brendan DuBois (EQMM, July 2016)
“Big Momma,” by Joyce Carol Oates (EQMM, March/April 2016)
“Parallel Play,” by Art Taylor (from Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning, edited by Donna Andrews, Barb Goffman, and Marcia Talley; Wildside Press)

Best Young Adult Novel:
Morning Star, by Pierce Brown (Del Rey)
Holding Smoke, by Elle Cosimano (Disney-Hyperion)
Steeplejack, by A.J. Hartley (Tor Teen)
Thieving Weasels, by Billy Taylor (Dial)
The Darkest Corners, by Kara Thomas (Delacorte Press)

Best E-Book Original Novel:
Romeo’s Way, by James Scott Bell (Compendium Press)
The Edge of Alone, by Sean Black (Sean Black)
Untouchable, by Sibel Hodge (Wonder Women)
Destroyer of Worlds, by J.F. Penn (J.F. Penn)
Breaker, by Richard Thomas (Alibi)

The winners will be declared in New York City on July 15, during the 2017 ThrillerFest. Congratulations to all of the contenders!

FOLLOW-UP: The Gumshoe Site’s Jiro Kimura notes that two other ITV prize winners were previously announced: Lee Child, 2017 ThrillerMaster recipient; and Lisa Gardner, 2017 Silver Bullet recipient.

1 comment:

Art Taylor said...

Thanks for sharing! Can hardly believe my good fortune having my work included on this distinguished list of writers!