Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Owl Be Seein’ You

The 7th Canon, a courtroom thriller by Seattle lawyer-turned-author Robert Dugoni, has won the 2017 Spotted Owl Award, according to “The Blood-Letter,” an irregular bulletin from the Portland, Oregon-based fan group Friends of Mystery, which sponsors the commendation. This is the first time Dugoni has captured the Spotted Owl, which is supposed to be given annually to the “best mystery written by an author whose primary residence is in the Pacific Northwest.” “The Blood-Letter” reports that this year’s Spotted Owl judges ranked their nominees for the award in this order (including several ties for placement):

1. The 7th Canon, by Robert Dugoni (Thomas & Mercer)
2. House Revenge, by Mike Lawson (Atlantic Monthly Press)
3. The King of Fear, by Drew Chapman (Simon & Schuster)
4. Not Dead Enough, by Warren Easley (Poisoned Pen Press)
4. Salvation Lake, by G.M. Ford (Thomas & Mercer)
4. Blood Flag, by Steve Martini (Morrow)
7. Ping-Pong Heart, by Martin Limón (Soho Crime)
8. Judicious Murder, by Val Bruech (Smoking Gun)
9. The More They Disappear, by Jesse Donaldson (Thomas Dunne)
9. Downfall, by J.A. Jance (Morrow)
9. Violent Crimes, by Philip Margolin (Harper)

By the way, Dugoni’s The 7th Canon is also vying for a 2017 Edgar Award in the Paperback Original category.

Previous recipients of the Spotted Owl include Jon Talton, Chelsea Cain and Johnny Shaw, Mike Lawson, Bill Cameron, and Alan Bradley. The prize was first presented back in 1996.

No comments: