Thursday, February 09, 2017

Bibliognosts Have Their Say

The British Crime Writers’ Association has announced its longlist of contenders for the 2017 Dagger in the Library prize, given “for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire.” According to a news release, “The CWA revised the 2017 Dagger in the Library format so that, uniquely among crime writing awards, only library staff were able to nominate authors. Nominations were received from 175 libraries across the UK and Ireland—with 110 authors suggested as worthy winners.” Of those, here are the 10 semifinalists:

Alison Bruce
Kate Ellis
Chris Ewan
Tana French
Mari Hannah
Brian MacGilloway
James Oswald
C.J. Sansom
Andrew Taylor
Nicola Upson

I don’t see any word yet on when a shortlist of contenders for this commendation might be announced, but I’ll certainly keep my eyes open for that news. Past recipients of the Dagger in the Library include Christopher Fowler, Sharon Bolton, Alexander McCall Smith, Stephen Booth, Belinda Bauer, Mo Hayder, Stuart MacBride, Peter Robinson, and last year’s winner, Elly Griffiths.

(Hat tip to Mystery Fanfare.)

No comments: