Monday, July 11, 2016

In the Shadow of Jackson

This weekend brought the announcement of which books and authors won the 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards, intended to recognize “outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.” These awards are, of course, named in honor of Shirley Jackson, the author of such classic works as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle. There are six prize categories; below are the winners of the top two.

Best Novel:
Experimental Film, by Gemma Files (ChiZine Publications)

Also nominated: Eileen, by Ottessa Moshfegh (Penguin Press); The Glittering World, by Robert Levy (Gallery); Lord Byron’s Prophecy, by Sean Eads (Lethe Press); and When We Were Animals, by Joshua Gaylord (Mulholland)

Best Novella:
Wylding Hall, by Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing/Open Road)

Also nominated: The Box Jumper, by Lisa Mannetti (Smart Rhino); In the Lovecraft Museum, by Steve Tem (PS Publishing); Unusual Concentrations, by S.J. Spurrier (Simon Spurrier); and The Visible Filth, by Nathan Ballingrud (This Is Horror)

Click here to see all of the winners and finalists.

No comments: